Summer successes in the garden 2016

To continue my little flurry of activity you’re currently experiencing on WordPress, I thought I’d share some of garden pictures from this summer.  As you can imagine the garden has suffered from neglect this year as our focus has been on the cottage, but I have managed to mostly win the war of the weeds, except maybe in the vegetable patch!  

When we uncovered the plastic sheeting to reveal the bare soil in the newly created vegetable beds, I decided it may benefit from some chicken manure, and to be honest I needed to shift some of it! So I happily spread it on, nice and thickly to ensure I gave the worms a good feed.  Unfortunately in my eagerness, I forgot one rather large thing…… Chickens and ducks eat seeds it would appear, and they must be particularly fond of buttercups! Well, who can blame them really, they are very pretty.  But sadly, as I didn’t leave my compost to ‘mature’ properly, I am now growing the world largest buttercups in my vegetable garden too, along with the odd pea or spinach!! Never mind, another valuable lesson has been learned, and I shall not been so impatient next time!!  

As promised, here are some pictures of my garden favourites so far this year. Enjoy. X

i do love aquilegia’s
the ammi majus are stunning this year!
this is a new rose I purchased
you can never have too many aquilegias in my opinion
this is my thilactrum aquilegiifolium
i bought this astrantia with me when we moved here, i think it approves.
an unusual double form of rannunculus acontifolium
i love the erigeron/forget-me-not combination
i cant remember the name of this geranium, but its a real champion the garden
another old rose
erigeron flowering it socks off
the foxgloves have been show stoppers this year
the lovely omphalodes
nasturtium
this little beauty is gypsophilia kermasina . i shall be growing this again next year
sweet pea ‘Lord Nelson’
a new geranium

7 thoughts on “Summer successes in the garden 2016

  1. I’ve loved these recent posts Hannah. I think you’re both really making a warm, welcoming and loving home out of your house and garden. Such hard work and such spirit. Love, love, love your floor and I agree, you can never have too many aquilegias. I didn’t mean to laugh out loud at the buttercup story, but I have to admit I did. It was quickly followed by an “Oh No!”…. without hindsight, who would have thought? I certainly wouldn’t have. Thanks for sharing the learning and thanks for the lovely updates. Love to Rob and big hugs all round. Michelle xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’re so impressed with all you have done in your cottage Hannah. Also lovely to see the large selection of flowers growing in your garden. You and Rob have certainly found happiness in your Welsh home. Enjoy the rest of the Summer.
    Love from Sheila & Bjørn

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your aquilegias are quite lovely 🙂 And at least you have started improving the soil in your veggie patch, even if it sprouted buttercups. Mine is not yet begun as I keep wondering how best to keep it from being entirely eaten by resident rabbits and birds, all of which seem to know exactly when the dog is indoors…!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All looking very nice and pretty,so much better than ours, stingers and thistles have done well, but cattle enjoyed them when I have I a pulling up time, but that Japanese knot weed arrgh such awful stuff it’s taken over in places where we going to have lawn, but I allow the geese and ducks in as since the dam fox had the last pair these not been allowed in the big field.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’re slowly getting there with the weeds, although if you turn your back for a minute, they’re back romping away. We really hadn’t considered how much effort it takes just to maintain land, let alone do anything constructive with it. Once we’ve got the main projects out of the way, it’ll be easier to devote the time to maintenance . X

      Like

Leave a Reply

